Mustang Flight Ops
Texan Flight Ops
L-39 Flight Ops
Unusual Attitude Training
Group 51 Aircraft Sales
Aircraft Management
AvDoc 51
merchandise
News & Media
Special Events
About Us
links
Contact Us
Home
Testimonials

April 18, 2017   "Had  a GREAT flying adventure!"

Had a great flying adventure with at Stallion51, flying the iconic P51 for an hour with a very good instructor. The setup is very professional and I am truly impressed by the team and the dedication they show to keep these unique aircraft flying.

Christian

_________________________________________________________________________

April 11, 2017  "Number 1 on my Bucket List"

I'm a lifelong aviation enthusiast with a particular interest in WW2 warbirds, not cause they are warbirds, but because they represent the utlimate development of the reciprocating engine airplanes, I have always dreamed of being able to fly a WW2 fighter and Stallion51 offers that oportunity in nothing less than a P51,with a Merlin up front!
 Stallion51 is a very impressive operation. A hangar floor so spotless that you could eat from it. The aeroplanes are impeccably maintained with bolts and screwheads which show no sign of scuffing or other wear and all metallic surfaces polished to mirror perfection. The processing around the flight is equally slick with a two hour briefing preceeding it and a debrief at the end. And you come away with a video of the whole flight with which you can bore family and friends to death! :-) The whole thing breathes professionalism and instills confidence. I flew for an hour with John "Homer" Black. He was a perfect instructor, friendly, calm and with an obvious intent to make this flight as memorable as possible for me. It had been 30 years since I let my licence expire, but he coaxed me through the aerobatic manuvers so well that I didn't make a complete fool of myself. The flight as everything I had hoped for and then some. We covered slow flight and aerobatics as well as some cloudchasing. Absolutely exhilarating.
 

Higly recommended!
Baard

__________________________________________________________________________

April 10, 2017   "Experience of a Lifetime" 

This was simply the experience of a lifetime. You can schedule 30 minutes ($2,550.00) or 60 minutes ($3,350.00), but for the $800.00 difference, go for the hour! Those prices will increase if fuel prices increase but that's what it was the day I went. There is an additional one hour orientation session which your friend(s) are permitted to sit in on if they wish. (Included in price) If you are a pilot, or just someone who is interested in historical aviation I can't imagine anything better. My pilot/instructor was Steve Larmore. He took time explaining the flight characteristics of the P51 and it's instrumentation during our preflight orientation. He was cheerful and patient. The equipment and aircraft were spotless. The flight was an hour for me and I felt like it was short. Steve allowed me to fly the aircraft as soon as we cleared the airport airspace until he talked me through landing. We did all sorts of maneuvers and he guided me through all of them. It's really difficult to put into words how much fun this was for me. Flying the P51 Mustang was something I've dreamed about all my life. If you're thinking about this, do it! I should note that I had to reschedule several times in an effort to find that perfect "Blue Sky" day, and the staff was really good about it. I would also say that it can get a little warm in the cockpit so think about the cooler months if possible.
 Helpful Tips: (1) Try to schedule a cool, blue sky day. (2) Consider taking an anti-nausea drug to maximize your time doing aeronautical maneuvers (3) Wear close toed shoes and lightweight clothing for comfort (4) Bring a friend to take lots of pictures - there are several amazing aircraft in this hangar. They give you a DVD or drop box video of your adventure too. (5) You can fly as much or as little as you want. He instructs you, but you fly the plane unless/until you want him to take it over.

_________________________________________________________________________

April 6, 2016   "This is something I would do again!"

This was a birthday present for my spouse. We signed up for a half hour flight. Scheduling through Kelly was easy and they were very accommodating. They took their time with a flight pre-brief to ensure you understood the planned flight and were comfortable. Jack "Homer" Black the CFI was superb. Calm, thorough and personable. The flight itself left a permanent grin on my spouses face. She was able to actually fly the plane to include a loop, barrel roll and aileron roll. Upon return a debrief is conducted with video. This was a great experience in a historic plane. This is something we would do again!!

_________________________________________________________________________

March 1, 2017  "You just did an aileron roll." 

I went flying with "Homer" a few days ago and it was simply amazing. After flying private planes and commercial airliners I had yet to try aerobatics and what better airplane to try it in than a P51? It has always been a dream of mine to fly one and the whole set up at Stallion 51 is set up to make it the best possible experience. Rolls, loops, wing overs and all that good stuff puts all my other aviation experiences to shame!

____________________________________________________________________

February 21, 2017  

"I would highly recommend this experience."

I have been flying for over 40 years in both general aviation and airline aircraft. This experience is without a doubt the most memorable and enjoyable experience I have ever had. The aircraft was in pristine condition, the facility immaculate and my instructor pilot was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly.
 
 I would highly recommend this experience.

Rich

_________________________________________________________________________

February 14, 2017 

"Just as advertized, I flew over 90% of the time!" 

Dreaming this for a long time, I got to fly the TF-51 Mustang with instructor Steve Larmore.
Simply put, this was the best day of my life.
I'm an Aviation enthusiast and flying such a legendary airplane was out of this world.

Steve and the whole team at Stallion51 made me feel very welcome, Steve explained in details all the manoeuvers we were going to fly.

Just as advertized, I flew over 90% of the time, Steve would just describe the manoeuver and I would then fly them it. The Mustang is relatively easy to fly in the air and it is a joy making machine.

The entire flight was recorded with 3 cameras, I received the same day a copy of the video that also includes cockpit conversations.

After the flight, they were kind enough to let me spend another hour in the hangar taking hundreds of pictures of their beautiful airplanes. As for the hangar itself, it is incredibly clean and tidy.

What an experience, thank you so much everyone at Stallion 51 !

Marc

__________________________________________________________________________

February 7, 2017    "Even more amazing than I thought it would be.........."

Flying with Stallion 51 is an exhilarating, energising, incredible experience. Of course it is, why wouldn't it be!? I thought I'd tell you about the things that aren't exactly common knowledge. First of all getting to Stallion 51 didn't exactly go to plan. I followed a standard car GPS which took me to the wrong side of the airfield. The best thing to do is get yourself on the 192 North of the airfield and join Hoagland Blvd from there, at this point ignore GPS and follow the map on Stallion's website. The Stallion flight ops reception and gift shop is located right at the end of Merlin Drive on the left hand side. It's not that well sign posted. Don't get it confused with the building on the corner that looks like its got a control tower, Stallion 51 is in the hangar closest to the threshold of runway 15. Once there go upstairs where the friendly, professional staff will greet you and get you sorted. I got a detailed brief from a top level instructor, to me the briefing was almost as interesting as the flying, we had a really good chat over a coffee before going downstairs to get suited up. Bring a flying suit with you if you have one but it's not a requirement, you might be able to borrow a suit if you ask. Obviously you need sensible shoes, you get given a flying helmet, try it on before you get to the aircraft otherwise you might find out the hard way that it's the wrong size. You can take your own camera as long as you can keep it secure when you're not using it. The GoPro elastic headmount does fit over the crash helmet, you just have to loosen it up quite a bit and be careful it doesn't come into contact with the canopy. You get your flight video anyway as part of the package, 2 cameras, 1 internal, 1 external. The canopy is a bit like a greenhouse, it gets a little warm and if you're in the Mustang you'll be sitting right on top of the radiator so think about how you're going to keep cool. I didn't have a plan for my flight but the instructor suggested we do aerobatics, we managed to fit a lot into 1 hour. My instructor also flew in formation with an L39 for a minute or two whilst I filmed. I put the video on youtube but Trip Advisor won't let me share the link with you here. As was advertised I was permitted to do 90% or more of the flying. I didn't do the takeoff and I didn't do the formation flying but I was allowed to try a landing. After parking up and shutting down my instructor took some photos for me. I got a certificate and a beautiful signed photo of Crazy Horse. I thought the whole operation was run very well it really is a World class setup, you've got top level professionals there and they did everything they could to exceed my expectations which were already very high. The only thing is that because it's an active airfield there isn't that much for family and friends to do. There is a great view of the airfield upstairs though with a radio and binoculars if they're into plane spotting. In January 2017 I paid $3300 for 1 hour in the Mustang, I think the L39 jet might be slightly cheaper and the T6 Texan is cheaper still. That is very good value for money. To compare with Spitfire flying in the UK, the Spitfire would be $3700 for 30 minutes only and you aren't always offered internal and external video with all the radio/intercom feed. If you're thinking about flying with Stallion 51 all I can say is you won't be disappointed, it's money well spent. If you think it's a bucket list once in a life time thing you are completely wrong, you will want to go back for more!

Jeremy Kern
Dubai

__________________________________________________________________________

January 23, 2017............."Couldn't Get Better........"

Thanks to Steve Larmore the flight was a true adventure. The Mustang performed better than expected and was a real joy to fly. Steve let me do far more than I could imagine and guided me through every exercise in a perfect way. Wish I had more money, I would have bought one!

Jan
Switzerland

_________________________________________________________________________

December 24, 2016.... "has been a dream for decades"

What an incredible experience. I've never flown before, this has been a dream of mine for decades. Everyone was awesome, fun and professional. I can't believe I did rolls, loops and a Cuban 8. Thanks Steve "Mad Dog", it was fantastic.

Russ Anderson

__________________________________________________________________________

December 14, 2016

"To call this experience epic would still be an understatement!"

I was very proud to volunteer at the Gathering of the Mustangs and Legends Air show and first heard about this opportunity at that time.

To call this experience epic would still be an understatement. It's been nearly 3 weeks since flying the Mustang and I'm still buzzing from the day. It has long been a dream of mine to fly the P-51 mustang and the experience provided by Stallion 51 and specifically John 'Homer' Black was nothing short of excellent.
The day began with a one-hour pre-flight with Homer explaining in great detail the sortie that we were to fly that day and how I should expect Crazy Horse 2 to perform.

The flying itself was outstanding. After a quick taxi and departure I got control of the airplane, and had the chance to perform everything from basic maneuvers, to rolls and loops to wing overs representing what a pilot would have done in WWII.
Homer was excellent throughout 'helping me' through the maneuvers while allowing me to do a majority of the flying after briefly demonstrating the maneuvers first. I even worked with him to do my first taildragger landing after a classic military break.

After a debrief watching some of my flying, Homer provided some great feedback and techniques about improving my flying skills. The video of my entire flight was provided for me to watch over and over again.

As an aviation enthusiast and avid pilot I would rank the overall experience a 10 out of 5 stars. The staff at Stallion 51 operations are great, and Homer is a really fun guy to fly with. I would fly with him again if I had the chance!

Neil Hathi
_____________________________________________________________________

December 9, 2016   .......SURPRISE 30th Birthday Flight!

I had the opportunity to ride with John "Homer" Black on December 9th for his 600th Mustang flight, and my first! The ride was a 30th birthday gift from my wife, and I don't know how she'll ever follow it up.
 
 As a child growing up, flying in an old war bird is a dream. To see the immaculately maintained dual control Mustangs up close is unbelievable. The entire operation at Stallion 51 is perfection - from their facility to crew and support staff.
 
 As an instructor who recognized the occasion was a celebration for a first timer, Homer was the consummate professional. His instructions were crisp and clear and he gave enough feedback to make you feel comfortable at the controls.
 
 This was a once in a lifetime experience and I cannot imagine a more exhilarating ride! If you've ever watched an old film, attended an airshow or dreamed of flying - get to Stallion 51 and get up in the air.

Carlo

____________________________________________________________________

November 30, 2016

"Definitely a must for any aviation enthusiasts."

Flying a real warbird, every pilot's dream.
My dream became true on a clear November morning in Florida.
Thanks to Stallion 51, a warm and professional staff together a very well maintained fleet I had the experience of a lifetime.
My instructor John "Homer" was fantastic, he gave me a very clear and detailed briefing and guided me through to explore the flying envelope of this amazing machine, from slow flight up to aerobatics.
Definitely a must for any aviation enthusiasts!

Fransesco Delmasrto

_________________________________________________________________________

November 28, 2016  "Getting Upside Down"

 As a very old fighter pilot who has not been upside down since 1992, the flight was beyond great fun. To be allowed to do what you like with the A/C was beyond anything I had hoped for. Go fly it while there is still an opportunity for you to do it. History does not stand still

Brian Leiding
Naples, Florida

__________________________________________________________________________

November 13, 2016

"The Pre-Flight nails what to expect -- and the Flight...is an authentic and thrilling hour."

I was able to experience Stallion 51 and fly the Texan -- and it was incredible. A buddy of mine with a Single Engine License flew the Mustang -- and Steve and I flew the Texan. We all were able to link up in formation before breaking off for a series of acrobatic moves. As a first time pilot - Steve was as confident, clear, and encouraging as you could expect... and he lets you fly while he manages the flight -- and that is what makes the flight so fun.

Stallion 51 is both personable and professional from booking to exit. They worked very hard to pair two dissimilar aircraft together so that my buddy and I could share in the fun. The Pre-Flight nails what the expectation will be -- and the Flight itself is not a scenic tour... it is an authentic and thrilling hour.

The video work that Stallion 51 is awesome. They cover the flight -- so you don't have to. It allowed me to focus on flying and not on selfies -- and you get a great video to show your friends.

I will fly with Stallion again. If you're traveling to the Orlando area for work or play -- a Stallion 51 Flight is a totally authentic experience. You will fly a treasure and treasure the flight.

MacKipp
Alaska

_________________________________________________________________________

November 6, 2016 

"I have performed every maneuver I ever dreamed of in a Mustang and then some."

I thank all of the folks at Stallion 51 for the opportunity to make my dream of flying a Mustang come true. In 1994 my wife came into the house from the mailbox with my copy of Air & Space Smithsonian containing an advertisement for an opportunity to fly in Crazy Horse. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it. We had already planned a trip to Disney World that summer for the kids and added a flight in Crazy Horse to the agenda as a result of seeing that advertisement. Flying with Lee has always been a real privilege and an honor. All of you are true professionals, and I continue to enjoy my association with all of you at Stallion 51. I have performed every maneuver I ever dreamed of in a Mustang and then some. Each time I have flown Lee has found new challenges for me to try and it has been more fun than any other aviation experience I have ever known. I look forward to scheduling future flights with you.

Best Regards,
Jeff Sterling

_________________________________________________________________________

October 31, 2016   "Here we go again, a good habit to have!"

The sound of a Merlin engine gives me chills ! It's a powerful and invigorating sound that tells me a great flight awaits the passenger and pilot. My husbands sixth flight with Lee Lauderback was as thrilling and exciting as his first one back in 1994. Stallion 51 offers an hour briefing, an hour flight and then an hour de-briefing that is about as exciting as the flight itself. Watching your video recorded flight on the big screen, allows you to relive the emotions and sights you just had in the cockpit. We'll go again and know that the experience will be, again, the thrill of a lifetime.....Staff at Stallion 51 make you feel like family and offer all the comforts of home. If you love WWII aircraft and want to fly a P-51 D Mustang, give Stallion 51 a call and get on the schedule. It truly is a dream come true.

Deb
Clifton, Virginia

_________________________________________________________________________

October 20, 2016    "He actually flew the plane...and he is still talking about it! "

My Children and I bought my husband the P-51 flight for his 60th birthday. It's hard to 'buy' for someone who has everything, or if he doesn't he buys it for himself. His Dad flew over 33 missions from Italy to Germany in WWII, so this had special meaning. At his birthday party, he got a bit teary-eyed, he was so overcome with emotions--I mean this was an UNBELIEVABLE surprise!!!
When he took the flight, I can only relay his excitement and total enjoyment: he actually FLEW the plane! The pre-flight information was very good to help with his expectations for the actual flight. That was October 20th, and he IS STILL talking about it. I know he will do it again. The entire team at Stallion were exceptional in making us all comfortable, and feeling 'special'

Kathy Kitty Cottrell

_________________________________________________________________________

September 13, 2016 "IMPRESIONANTE"  = "Impressive"

Viaje para volar un avion de la segunda guerra y la experiencia es inolvidable, vole un Mustang P51 D con el instructor John Pouson que ademas habla castellano, vuelo de 1 hr, despues del despegue te entrega el avion y desrrallas vuelo acrobatico bajo su supervicion. Si gustan de los deprotes aereos es imperdible.

Raul
Spain
_________________________________________________________________________

August 30, 2016 "Un Revede Grosse"   = "A childhood dream"

J'ai vécu un rêve d'enfant !!! j'ai non seulement volé en P51 mais je l'ai carrément piloté alors que j'ai aucune expérience de pilotage !! Le jour de mon passage ( 22/08 ) il y avait 4 P51 dans le hangar dont 1 P51B , tous dans un état impeccable . l'accueil de l'équipe est très sympa et Steve , le pilote a été incroyable : il a parfaitement su me mettre à l'aise , tout m'expliquer clairement et me donner régulièrement les commandes : j'ai fait des looping , des tonneaux et c'est moi qui tenait le manche !! C'est réellement une expérience extraordinaire . Et pour parfaire le tout j'ai reçu ce matin le DVD du vol que je me repasse en boucle !! Franchement si vous passer dans le coin et que vous êtes amateur de warbirds , n'hésitez pas !!

Jean Francois
Lyon, France
_________________________________________________________________________

July 21, 2016 "Flying a Dream"

Great team...great place...great planes...what else?
Starting a Merlin engine and flying the plane that change the face of the world during WWII is definetely "once in a lifetime experience"
Nothing is comparable !

Guillaume

_________________________________________________________________________

July 1, 2016  "One of the greatest aviation experences of my life"

My time at Stallion 51 was one of the greatest aviation experiences in my young life! As a matter fact I'm still on cloud 10!

I got my interest in aviation from my father. He was a Marine Corps helicopter pilot  in Vietnam. Listening to his stories as a young boy peaked my interest in the aviation community. I was always very good with my hands, so I decided in high school to be an aircraft maintenance technician. I attended my local  vocational school at the Lakehurst Naval Air Station and obtained my A&P certificates. Having just come out of high school I was one of the youngest graduates to ever complete the program. While in vocational school I took a job at my local airport fueling aircraft. One of the first aircraft I fueled was a B 25 Mitchell. I was hooked on warbirds ever since. After obtaining my mechanics licenses I started working on that very same Mitchell in addition to the rest of the museum's collection to include corsair, avenger , Warhawk ,Catalina Gooney-bird and thunderbolt. Not to mention a half a dozen Texans.

Wasn't long after I started to get the flying itch. After working hard and saving a bunch of money, I set off in pursuit of my pilots ratings. I obtained  my commercial pilot license, multi engine, instrument rating along with all of my flight instructor Ratings. In order to pay for all that training and to gain flight experience, I would turn wrenches all week and Tow banners up-and-down the Jersey shore in a Piper cub. After gaining some flight experience I started to copilot that very same B25 in addition to the museums DC3. I would travel to airshows for the next 10 years, most of the time with a few fighters on our Wing! My urge to fly one of those fighters grew stronger and stronger. With the help of a very good friend it has finally come true! It would be amazing to fly off the wing of a B 25 someday! When I started my aviation career at the age of 18, I cannot believe that I would be where I am today only 17 short years later. 

I now work as a police officer in my hometown and have the privilege to serve my local fire department as their Chief. I've been a volunteer fireman since the age of 16. I am married to my high school sweetheart Melissa and we have two beautiful children, Ryan and Katherine. I hope someday to pass my love of aviation onto them. 

Having been around warbirds and the airshow Industry for so many years, I understand why training in these aircraft is so very important. The Stallion 51 syllabus allowed me the opportunity to experience the Mustang in all phases of flight with a very accomplished instructor in the backseat. Steve Larmore not only polished my basic flying skills in the airplane, but  allowed me the opportunity to experience what the Mustang can really do. This gave me the confidence to enjoy the P51 while knowing where to treat it with respect. I can't thank the entire Stallion 51 team enough and look forward to my recurrent training. 

 

I will wear my Stallion 51 patch proudly!

Thank you again,

Ryan Parente

________________________________________________________________________

 JUNE 20, 2016

".......it’s an E-TICKET ride you won’t forget, EVER!!"

I learned of the P-51 very early in life, near the end of WWII, and have always dreamed of flying one; at the very the top of my “Bucket List”.  Last April some very, very close friends surprised me with a Stallion 51 Gift Certificate to fly the Mustang, scheduled for my 75th Birthday this June, with Stallion 51.   Talk about a jaw-dropping surprise!!

I’ve always been fascinated with WWII aircraft, especially the Mustang.  Over the years, talking to pilots who had flown it, listening to the Merlin during a fly by at air shows, etc., I developed a sense of what it “might” be like to fly one myself.  During my 21 plus years with the USAF I had plenty of experience behind round engines in B-26B’s and K’s, and T-28A,B,C,& D-10’s, but never behind the V-12 Merlin.  I could not believe the dream was soon to come true.  And come true it did!

The folks at Stallion 51 all shared in “MAKING-MY-BIRTHDAY” exceptionally special after the last of my two sorties, complete with a Birthday Party, Cake, a Staff-signed Birthday Card, and a terrific rendition of, “…….”, well you know.  Thanks to Kelly, Beth, and KT Budde-Jones for helping navigate all the administrative paperwork, John Lauderback for the exquisite quality photos of arrival back at Kissimmee for the final landing, and Greg Wise for a meticulously maintained and unbelievably detailed aircraft he keeps running like a Swiss Watch; a true artist. 

My instructor in the hot seat, Steve “MadDog” Larmore, whom I thought might have to say, “…I got the aircraft…”, a lot, didn’t.  Instead, he offered precise instructions at the appropriate time allowing me to fully experience, but mostly understand, the language of this marvelous fighting air machine of 1944.  Steve is without a doubt one of the most professional, and patient instructors I’ve ever had guide me in aircraft operations.  I would not have been able to achieve this level of satisfaction handling this exceptional aircraft from the front seat without his competent and thorough work with SAFETY as the main theme.   Was this experience like how I had sensed, over the past 70 years, it “might” be?

NO!  IT WAS WAY BEYOND THAT!

There’s a “stable” of Mustangs in Kissimmee, Florida near Orlando at Stallion 51, and several very professional, committed “Wranglers” that control their care and feeding.  On top of that there’s a Wrangler that’ll help you “stay-on”, from the top rail of that “corral” full of blue sky and popcorn clouds.  Give ‘em a call and work out a schedule; one ride at least.  Nothings forever, but it’s an E-TICKET ride you won’t forget, EVER!!

Jack Mezzo, Texas

__________________________________________________________________________

June 13, 2016

"Barrel rolling through the blue again was simply awesome"

After spending 1000 hours flying combat in Vietnam and then not climbing into a plane for 40 years it was incredible to fly with Stallion 51. Their professionalism and attention to detail was outstanding. The flight instructor was very encouraging despite how rusty my flying skills were. It was an experience I will never forget, to be free and barrel rolling through the blue again was simply awesome.

Dr. Ted

_______________________________________________________________________

June 1, 2016

"An all-sensory experience that puts one in awe!"

Some events in life become the standard by which others are judged. Taking an hour ride in a Mustang is one of those. An all-sensory experience that puts one in awe of the shoulders upon which we are standing. To imagine being a fresh faced 20 year old taking to the skies in such a machine just 40 years after the birth of flight. To go from the depths of the Great Depression to an even greater war. From farm boy with a team of horses to an agile 1700 horse power airplane designed to take on the forces of evil in the world's greatest clash of civilizations. But hey, I wasn't there. For me it was just a joy ride, and my my, what a ride. The experience was worth the price of admission for sure, but having done so one can not help but to think back on the totality of what it represents.
 
 Let me say a more professional operation does not exist. The standard by which others should be judged. To get in an old war bird takes a leap of faith but not here. Everything was done with the up most professionalism and attention to detail. Just what you would hope to see.
 
 So to John and Steve and Kelly and everyone else at Stallion 51 thank you. Hope to see you again soon.
 
Warren A. Blikken

_________________________________________________________________

May 17, 2016 

"It was absolutely incredible and the best time of my life!"

I went to Stallion 51 in Kissimmee Florida on May 9, 2016 where I got to do a 1 hour orientation flight. Let me tell you it was a dream come true. My pilot was John "Homer" Black and I can't say enough good things about him. He was very professional, knowledgable and took the time to explain everthing and wanted to make sure I understood everything. We took to the skies where I took control and started off with do I g basic maneuvers like slow turns and then steeper turns. Once he thought I was comfortable, next came the aerobatics. I got to fly and perform barrel rolls, aileron rolls, loops and etc. It was absolutely incredible and the best time of my life! I am definitely coming back to Stallion 51. I highly recommend anyone who is interested in aviation to take a ride in a vintage P-51, thats how flying should be. You will not be disappointed, trust me! The entire staff at Stallion 51 was so welcoming and professional. Thanks again to the entire staff at Stallion 51! I'm still smiling!

Benjamin

________________________________________________________________

May 1, 2016  

"I got to do loops, rolls, stalls....and even the landing!"

I got to fly with the owner Mr. Lee Lauderback and it was incredible. I thought he would fly the aircraft and show me what it could do; I was very wrong. Their add states "you will fly 90% of the time” and they meant it. I had control of the aircraft almost immediately: taxing to the runway. Right after wheels up I again had control and had it almost all flight. What an experience. I got to do loops, rolls, stalls, barrel rolls, 4 point rolls even the landing. Although it wasn’t very good.

The whole experience couldn't have been better. The staff was very professional and very personable too; they made you feel at home. I wanted to take a lot of photos and they gave me and my wife free range of the ramp. They were there to answer any questions I had. If you're someone who loves aircraft like I do or perhaps flying a war bird is on your bucket list you have to do this. Even if you just want to see some historical aircraft this is the place. Mr. Lauderbeck was an incredible instructor, you and your staff have my highest recommendation. I love it and would and have recommended it to anyone.

Alabama Fan

_________________________________________________________________________

April 25, 2016         

"The Best Christmas gift EVER!!!!!"

My husband was a loadmaster in the AF and retired about 15 years ago. He is the most avid non-pilot flyer I know and I knew he would love this experience. The customer service was amazing, so friendly and helpful. We were able to walk through the hangars and take pictures of the beautiful Mustangs. The entire staff was knowledgable and couldn't have been any nicer! My husband loved the entire experience and for that I can't thank you enough! 

Jessica

_______________________________________________________________

March 30, 2016

"There should be a rating better than excellent!  "

I've been looking at doing this for awhile and since I was going to visit friends in FL. I thought that I'd give them a call. I talked to a very friendly knowledgeable and helpful person and booked the P51 on a thurs. and the L39 jet the following Mon. Both flights were fantastic and both pilots/instructors great and very competent. I flew most of both flights, including aerobatics, unusual attitudes and the landings. From the time I walked in the front door until it was all done everyone was very helpful and encouraging. The jet was on my bucket list, the Mustang I will do again next year, props are my thing. I was very impressed with the Stallion 51 operation and even though I'm a little rusty on flying, at no time did I feel even the least bit uncomfortable. This is a fantastic experience, and well worth a trip to FL. just to do this. I was lucky enough to be able to experience some formation flight with an AT-6, it was amazing.

Kurt
Winnepeg, Canada

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

March 20, 2016

"A dream comes true, one hour in a P-51 Mustang!"

A dream comes true, one hour in a P-51 Mustang thanks to my two lovely daughters, Melinda and Andrea for my 80th birthday. What a kick!!!! Being USN retired, I have had the opportunity to fly supersonic and have been high enough to see the curvature of the earth on several occasions, but, at this late date, none compares to just one hour in a Mustang. What a sweet aircraft. For several years my daughters have heard me make the comment……..just one hour in a P-51 is all I want. Who would have thought? Thanks sweet girls. I love you greatly. Thanks Steve for a wonderful flight. Stallion 51 made the promises and came through in spades.

Max Gore

___________________________________________________________________________

February 17, 2016

"Mind blowing experience....a PERFECT 10! "

Fifty years ago as a young boy I fell in love with the P-51 Mustang—its crisp flowing lines, the power and song of its Merlin engine, its outstanding performance and revered place in aviation history.  Ever since I had dreamed of experiencing flight in such a fantastic machine.  Googling the internet last year I stumbled upon the Stallion 51 website, and I knew I had to pay them a visit.  Their flight operations staff (Kelly) was amazingly responsive, courteous,  and helpful.   The entire facility was polished, spotless, and organized.  Steve, my instructor, was friendly, courteous, and supremely professional in every way—calm, clear, reassuring, encouraging, and patient.  The plane, “Crazy Horse,” was beautiful and immaculately prepared.  The flight was astonishing, unforgettable—I’m not an experienced pilot—and yet totally undramatic.  Steve took such good care of me that I soon felt very comfortable doing very unfamiliar things—climbing straight up into the clear blue sky, diving straight down, looking up at the Earth, lining up the runway for landing.  The plane performed flawlessly and it was astonishingly easy and comfortable to fly.  When I signed up for this flight I had no idea what a mind-blowing experience it would be.  I came away with a far deeper respect for this famous plane and the people who flew (and still fly) it than ever, and I will never forget the hour I got to spend immersed in such glorious history.  It is truly an experience of a lifetime.  I’m so grateful to the professionals at Stallion 51 for fulfilling a lifelong dream in such a remarkably satisfying way.  Perfect 10.

Mike Cox

_____________________________________________________________

December 21, 2015 

A Great way to start retirement-with a permanent smile on my face!

The entire scenario of the brief, ride and debrief was extremely thorough. For me, the ride included aerobatics and wing tip formation. Homer was an outstanding instructor pilot helping along the way but I got to fly most of the flight. It was retirement gift from my kids after 40 years of commercial flight and previous military experience. It will for ever put up a smile on my face when anyone ever brings up the subject in the future.

John
Arizona

____________________________________________________________

December 2, 2015  "You climb into the best fighter plane ever built"

If you or someone you love has a dream of flying a North American P-51D, contact them and set up a flight on your next trip to Disney World or Universal Studios. You will be able to climb into the best fighter plane ever built. The instructor pilot will take care of everything and explain it all. Steve was the best instructor I have ever flown with. The company and everyone there is very professional and it is a wonderful place. So quit dreaming and make it happen. My flight was 11/16/15 about three weeks ago and I am still thrilled I did it and golly it was a lot of fun. Now I am playing with the idea of saving to take another ride.......

Tom Wright
Alaska

_______________________________________________________________________

November 20, 2015  “A fantastic experience with outstanding people, in an amazing aircraft.”

 I spent an amazing afternoon with the team at Stallion 51, flying, performing and learning to perform aerobatics in a drop dead gorgeous dual cockpit P-51 / TF-51 D Mustang named Crazy Horse 2. It may well have been the single most enjoyable experience of my life. I am still wearing an ear-to-ear grin. This is a great time, with a great group of people, experiencing an amazing piece of history. And it is very highly recommended. 

PRE FLIGHT BRIEFING 

I checked in and met my pilot and instructor, John Posson, at Stallion 51 HQ, Kissimmee Gateway Airport in Kissimmee, for the pre-flight briefing. We went over my flying experience, the days flight plan, safety procedures, etc., and discussed the maneuvers we’d be performing.

You might expect, as I did, that I’d only be allowed to fly a bit of the hour, and only level or gentle turns – not the case. In fact, as John said, I’d wind up flying, save take off, landing, as much as he would – joking they’d have to charge more if he flew more than me. 

CLIMBING INTO COCKPIT & TAXI 

We then headed down to the Stallion 51 hangar. There we met Greg Wise, the Crew Chief, and I climbed into the back seat cockpit of the dual cockpit Crazy Horse 2 for orientation to the controls, instruments, and additional instructions and safety briefing. 

The cockpit is snug, with trim controls to left, stick and instrument panel in front of you. You sit atop the parachute on the seat. The stick’s gun trigger has been modified to operate the intercom used for the pilot and ‘trainee’ to speak to one another. The plane has three cameras – one mounted in the cockpit facing the occupants, one mounted atop the tail and one mounted on the left horizontal stabilizer – controlled by the pilot, and taking a video (with audio of your conversations) throughout the flight. 


You will wear earplugs, helmet with visor (though you can wear sunglasses if preferred), headset and microphone. There are fresh air vents in the canopy, but it will get warm, so dress accordingly. You can bring a small camera or phone – there is a very small ‘glove box’ beneath the instrument panel – but, outside a couple periods between flying, you’ll be very focused on the flying and experience. 

John and Greg were relaxed, utterly confident and professional – a big help in getting settled as adrenaline was pumping. After checking out plane, prepping video systems, etc., we taxied out for take-off. Along the way, golfers at the adjacent course, to a man, stopped to watch, wave and give thumbs up – it’s a drop dead beautiful plane, a real head turner; and, it’s an amazing experience to be inside getting ready for flight. 

FLIGHT

After quick final check of engine and systems, it’s out on to the runway, and the you are off – and the P51 gets airborne in a heartbeat. The pilot, of course, handles take off and climb out away from airport. But very shortly thereafter, John says “You have the controls”, and you are flying. We climbed to approximately 10,000 feet, over central Florida, and with a divert airport within short range should the, unlikely, need arise. 

The rhythm of the flight was that John would take the controls, demonstrate a maneuver while I watched the controls and got a feel for how the plane moved, then he would pass control back to the me, and talk me through doing the same maneuver. Between some of the more exhilarating maneuvers, we’d pause a bit in level flight, before moving to the next. John was utterly calm, assured, clear and patient – made what might have been somewhat intimidating a breeze. The plane is amazing to fly – very little stick control (picture moving the top of the stick only around the circumference of a silver dollar) needed, eyes on horizon being sufficient with small adjustments to keep wings level, nose level, and with judicious use of trim, very little stick needed at all. 

We started our series of aerobatics with a stall and recovery, to get a feel for a stall – slowing to some 70 mph and lifting the nose. Following that, as noted, we alternated flying through a series of maneuvers – including: steep turns, Wing Over, Aileron Roll, Point Roll, Cuban 8, Loop, Vertical Roll, Immelman, Split-S, and Overhead Break. Afterwards, we took advantage of some popcorn cumulus clouds to fly around, through and over clouds – some lazily, some with more emphasis. An amazing experience I didn’t want to end. 

POST FLIGHT

Sadly, we eventually had to return to land. After climbing out of the cockpit, a bit soaked with sweat and grinning ear to ear, we headed back up to the briefing room for post flight brief. There we watched a bit of the video taken of our flight, discussed the flight, and then relaxed and spent some time shooting the bull with John P. and Lee Lauderback (Owner and Chief Pilot) about the plane, flying, their impressive backgrounds. John was kind enough to also lead me back down to hangar to take photos of there amazing collection of P-51s / TF-51s. A great end to a great day. 

PEOPLE

A great team of people across the board at Stallion 51. Lee Lauderback and John Posson are deeply experienced pilots – Lee, I believe, has the most hours of any person in the world flying the P-51 Mustang, and John flies aerobatics in these amazing machines at airshows. These guys are the real deal – to say the least. Greg Wise is Crew Chief over a multi million dollar collection of five P-51s, enough said; and, a great guy. And from the moment of booking, through my questions before arriving, and after, Kelly Managhan in Flight Operations was a rock star. 

SUMMARY 

This was an unbelievably amazing experience. It’s not only the aerobatics, it’s not only the beautiful, graceful and powerful Mustang – it’s the overwhelming sense of history, flying through and above the clouds, looking down on fields, roads, in one of the great planes not only of World War II, but all time. If you’ve a passion for aviation, aviation history, military history, and great aircraft, it’s a dream come true and a must do. Needless to say, recommended in the highest possible terms. In short: Best Time Ever. So, Just Go Do It. Right Now.

Dave from Minnesota

 ___________________________________________________________________

November 15, 2016   "Still flying in my mind"

This trip and visit to Stallion 51 was worth every penny. Top notch professional staff starting from the receptionist to the flight instructor. The P-51 is a dream aircraft to fly and to enjoy the technology that made this the most desirable war bird. The instructor John was a friendly, confident, and truly interested in my flying and enjoying the day. My family was with me and was invited to the pre-flight briefing they learned more that day. I am still flying Crazy Horse in my mind, and will not forget this most wonderful experience.

_______________________________________________________________________

November 13, 2015      "Just do it...The grin lasts for ages..."

I have flown the Mustang before and this was another opportunity to experience the sheer quality and professionalism of a well run establishment.

This is a very high end and niche experience, however for those who are reading who wish to experience the sounds, history and sheer delight of such an iconic airplane, I can't think of anywhere else in the world better. Simply put, Stallion 51 set out with a standard - A1 many years ago and have maintained it ever since.

From the contact, through the check in via the briefing to the flight, debrief and relaxed chat afterwards, everything is ultra professional.

Simply put - Just Go Do It !!!    The grin lasts for ages and ages

Trent, Yorkshire

_______________________________________________________________________

November 1, 2015      " I did the majority of flying ......."

If you are into WWII warbirds, the Mustang orientation flight offered by Stallion 51
is THE one experience that you should not miss out on!

Like many others, the P-51D Mustang have been my all time favorite airplane since I were a kid. Living in Denmark, I only saw one on rare occasions at bi-yearly local airshows. I have always loved the look and the sound of it.

Ever since I "accidently" stumbled across the Stallion 51 website many years ago have I wanted to go for a ride. 

When my family and I this year booked a two week vacation to Florida near Kissimmee, I immediately contacted Stallion 51 to book a 1 hour orientation flight one of their dual-control converted Mustangs.

I regular fly R/C model airplanes and know the basics of flight, but I have no experience in flying full-size airplanes what so ever.

It is absolutely amazing that it is possible to basically walk in from the street and get some stick-time in the legendary Mustang without having any experience in flying.

My instructor was Steve Larmore. Besides takeoff and landing, I did the majority of flying the plane...just like advertised.

Steve did a great job of first giving me a basic feeling for flying the plane and then talking me through different aerobatics maneuvers.

I did not give Steve as much feedback on his instructions over the intercom as I maybe should have...sorry about that Steve, but I was to busy enjoying my ride :-D

Thank you everybody at Stallion 51 for offering this possibility to us that are not so fortunate to be able to own a plane like this. This is truly a unique experience.

I hope you will be able to provide this service for many years to come, and that I will be able to visit you again.

Best regards
Kåre Kristiansen
Denmark

________________________________________________________________________

October 5, 2015   "Worth the Wait! 

I met with my pilot/instructor John "Homer" Black to receive an orientation on flying the P 51 Mustang, Crazy Horse. After an hour of orientation we took to the sky to have the flight of my life. John would go through the different maneuvers then I would repeat what he had done. Aileron rolls, barrel rolls, loops, lazy eights, wing overs, slow and high speed stalls and steep turns were included in the flight. The experience was one that I had hoped to enjoy since the latter years of World War Two, and it was well worth the wait. If you love flying, find a way to do this whether you are a pilot or not. In my 78 years I have flown a lot of different types of airplanes but nothing like this. A wonderful experience.

Charlie F.
Mississippi

_______________________________________________________________________

August 31, 2015    "Stallion 51 is where dreams meet reality!"

As a Pilot with a major U.S. Airline, 25+ years in the Industry and over 28 years flying numerous aircraft around the world I offer this review. 

Bring every expectation you have along with your dreams to Stallion 51. What you'll find when you arrive is without a doubt the most professional, most courteous, exceptionally trained and talented group of people in the aviation industry today. 

Any question or request you have will be answered and granted by Stallion's Staff. Julia and KT go above and beyond to make dreams come true. Stallion's Pilots/Instructors are without question some of the most highly trained and experienced pilots in the industry and they produce the perfect flight experience to cherish. 

Steve Larmore is one of the finest, most talented Instructors I've met in 28 years. I've had the honor of his instruction in both the T6 and P-51. Flying a few hours in the T6 followed by an hour in the P-51 will give you an experience only Stallion 51 can offer. 

Stallion 51 is where dreams meet reality. 
Accomplish your dream. Fly the Mustang with Stallion 51 today!

Jim from Alaska

______________________________________________________________________

August 28, 2015

"I have only one desire, to return for a new flight in P-51". 

When I was a young boy, i built a model of P-51 Mustang. I thought that it never could be possible to fly this beautiful aircraft but this dream came true the last august 14th.

I was very impressed when i walked into the hangar where aircrafts are stored. The planes are in exceptional condition. Although my English is limited my instructor was very kind. I took a course in piloting P- 51 as i do not even dreamed with aerobatic figures. It was beyond my expectations. I have only one desire , to return for a new flight in P-51. 

A big thank you to the whole team of 51 stallion and especially John POSSON my instructor.

Phil S    
Poitiers, France
Visited August 2015

________________________________________________________________________

August 8. 2015   "...Not just get a ride but a flight lesson about handling the P51"

I am a French fighter pilot (Mirage 2000) and had dreamt since my youth of getting a ride in a Mustang. My dream came true one month ago and this was even more exceptional than I could have had expected. You do not just get a ride but you are offered a flight lesson about handling the P51: stalls, aerobatic maneuvers....
Luckily, another man was also flying the same day and we were offered some minutes of formation flight. The whole team is exceptional, my instructor pilot, John, has been more than excellent. Then the team offered me one hour with the planes to shoot photos of my beloved wife, who was that way completing my BDay present. For all those who still hesitate: it is worth spending your money for such a wonderful time! I hope to fly again soon with Stallion 51 Flight Ops.

Christoph
New York, NY
______________________________________________________________

July  27, 2015  "Flying the Mustang is like driving a Formula 1 Car!"

I'm not a pilot but I have piloted a Cessna on such a "One Day Try It" deal. I've done all sorts of roller coaster rides as well. But nothing of this compares to FLYING A MUSTANG. This plane is an historic masterpiece and it's already a privilege to sit inside one. Flying it is like driving a Formula 1 instead of your usual car. To appreciate this opportunity, I recommend first to download the tech manual they used to give the World War 2 pilots. This is absolutely not necessary but if you chose a Mustang ride, you must be interested to know a bit about it, right? The ride is customised so it can be as smooth as you want, or as punishing if you want to feel the G force. Which by the way, has nothing al all to do with the shaking of a roller coaster or attraction park thrill ride. The Gs don't shake you, they press on you and squeeze your vision black out, if you want it to be that intense. I felt safe and well supervised by John Posson : he knows how to make things clear, simple, accurate and quite, quite enjoyable. Thanks JP, from JP!

JP from
Montreal, Canada

_____________________________________________________________

June 19, 2015  " A thrill I will always remember"

Whether you are a pilot with a few hours or someone fascinated with aviation, the instructor pilots at Stallion 51 will give you the opportunity to learn and experience what it is like to fly their high performance aircraft. For me I learned some basic techniques to recover from unusual attitudes like extreme wing-overs, rolls, loops, and accelerated stalls. I got to fly behind a glass panel for the first time and to see what it is like to fly in close formation; and to do this flying a military jet was amazing. Adding to this the opportunity to fly the historical Texan and Mustang is a thrill I will always remember.

 

Sky King,
Connecticut

_______________________________________________________________________

June 2,  2015  "I wondered what those pilots felt  controlling the P-51’s.  Now I know!" 

A flight in a Mustang had been a dream since my youth.  I watched the war birds being
ferried, at low altitude, over our home during WW2.  I wondered what those pilots felt
controlling the P-51’s.  Now I know! 

I am now in my late 70’s. I have a commercial pilot’s license, but have not flown for 29 years, except for my X-Plane simulator.  At my wife’s encouragement, I set up an appointment to fly “Crazy Horse.”  I was extremely impressed with the professionalism
at Stallion 51.  The facilities were spotless, and the airplanes immaculate.  My instructor, John “Homer” Black, thoroughly covered our preflight.  Our flight was recorded by three
video cameras mounted on the aircraft.  With this video I can relive my flight over again.
Once in the air, Homer let me fly the TF-51.  When we reached the maneuvering area he had me do several turns.  He then demonstrated stalls and slow flight.  I then did them.  He did the same with wingovers, aileron rolls,  barrel rolls, and loops.  It was fantastic!  On the way home we flew in formation with the other TF-51.  Homer is an excellent instructor and made me feel comfortable at the controls.  Homer also held a very through post flight debriefing.  This had been one of the best flying days of my life.

Four days later Homer and I did the same flight in their L-39 jet trainer.  We did the same maneuvers as in the TF-51.  These two flights were certainly a highlight of my life and I hope to someday return and repeat the experience.  If you have such a dream, DO IT!  You will not regret the experience.

Sincerely, Galen (Gene)

________________________________________________________________________

May 2015   "Take a real ride and release the pilot you have inside!"

As a kid I always was looking up in the sky for aeroplanes. The jet fighters from the airforce swept over our house and I dreamed of being up there some day. Well, as a 15 years old boy I had my glider licens, and it went on from that. I flew a lot of nice, fun airplanes but there was always that lasting dream of flying the ultimate planes of the golden era: powerful warbirds from the 40:s and especially the P51 Mustang. And I took the leap. My supporting wife Katarina said: Lets go to Florida and Stallion 51 this spring, you always talking about going there some time. And so we did.


Can I really fly this thing? Hundreds of horsepower and a refinement of the fighters from the 40:s.

Yes, it was possible, of course in guidance of my very experienced instructor John Posson. After starting up the Rolls Royce Merlin, quite an experience just doing that, I got the airplane on the taxi strip and made turns just so we could see the taxiway behind the giant nose. Well, I stayed on the concrete at least. Motor check before start, canopy locked and we where away. Smooth with the throttle, and then a little more power, we have a lift of, gear up, left turn. Climbing to 10000ft to reach the training area took us only a few minutes.

He (yes, a stallion) was a grace to fly, smooth and distinct, willing to do just what you where asking for. We tested the stall characteristics in level flight and in a steep turn. Some vibrations was felt in the wing to indicate that a stall was coming and then a gentle drop, easy to pick up. Well, we went upside down too, but just put in some aileron to turn the plane back to level and straight flight. My instructor let me do some aerobatics too and there where rolls, wingover, barrel roll, Immelmann, loops and a four point roll as well. The P51 is fast and you can go really high in maneuvers, using a lot of space, and no hurry at all. Using the elevator trim you can gently build up sufficient G and let the airplane just fly through the maneuvers. Minutes are really running here! Time to go home and get into the landing pattern, specially made for a pureblood V12 fighter." You can land now", my instructor said. With wet pearls on my forehead I tried to place the landing gear symmetrically and soft. Well, we were down but I think it will take some time to get it all right.
This is an experience of a lifetime! Don´t buy worthless things  - take a real ride instead and release the pilot you have inside!

Thanks to all you nice people at "Stallion 51"

Peter Dorbell

_______________________________________________________________________

May 12, 2015    "Pilot Heaven"

The ride of a lifetime. I've been waiting for a long time to do this flight. Ever since I made that Airfix model when I was a young lad, but never thought then that I would actually be able to see and fly the real thing. Last year I flew a Spitfire, another dream flight, this year the Mustang. Steve made it the flight of my life. An hour of instruction in every aerobatic manoeuvre in the book. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. And worth the wait. I will definitely be back for some more.

Steven
Caterham, England

______________________________________________________________________

May 1, 2015
"My husband says this experience will change your life !"

How would you describe to someone what an orange tastes like ? You can't. You have to experience it for yourself. Stallion 51 in Kissimmee, Florida has the experience of a lifetime waiting and this is one you CAN find out for yourself !! My husband is a WWII airplane nut who discovered Stallion 51 from a Smithsonian Institute magazine article and having the dream of flying a P-51 D Mustang, had his dream come true ! Stallion 51 made it possible. Our experience was fabulous from the moment we walked into the conference room for his briefing until after his flight and hour later, when we had a debriefing and the experience of the flight itself was shared. Stallion 51 goes all out in making this experience fun, exciting and a memory that will last a lifetime. My husband was lucky enough to have one of the best pilots flying the skies today and that's Lee Lauderback. My husband says this experience will change your life ! Located at a small airport in Kissimmee, Florida, Stallion 51 office is staffed with knowledgeable, friendly, family style folks. The pilots have mega hours in these birds. Photos on the walls and books available make the history of these wonderful air birds come alive and then you can actually fly one !!! The experience was video recorded from the cockpit and from the tail of the airplane so we can watch it over and over again and relive the event. How many women do you know that can recognize the sound of a merlin engine on approach before you can see it ? I can !! This was one of the most exciting and fun things we ever did. My husband flew the P 51 D known as CrazyHorse, but I experienced his happiness with him. This is a fabulous place to go when in the Orlando, Florida area. 

Deb from Clifton, VA

________________________________________________________________________________

April 13, 2015 

"I was amazed at how much of the flying I got to do!"

Dear all at Stallion 51;   Just a quick note to thank everyone yesterday for my experience flight  of a lifetime !!

This was on my bucket list and I was amazed at how much of the flying I
got to do, in my wildest dreams I never thought I would be able to do the
rolls and loops that I did I can't wait to watch the video and show all
my friends, including my airline pilot friends who will be green with
envy now.

A special thanks to my instructor John for talking me through everything,
giving me the confidence to try the manoeuvres and keeping me safe !!

The hour went so quickly but I will savour every minute of the day for a
long time to come

With my best wishes

Andy Ford
_____________________________________________________________________

April 1, 2015 

"Mustang flight was probably the high point of my flying career!"

I’ve have to say that Mustang flight was probably the high point of my flying career as far as just having pure unrestrained fun in the air. I was totally exhausted and spent by the time I landed but I still can’t wipe the smile off my face. I didn’t know what pilot skills I still retained, if any, after 26 years out of a cockpit but I didn’t want to make a fool out of myself. Steve was very professional about the flight and didn’t laugh too loud.  He put me at ease to fly the best I could and just enjoy the experience. My pilot skills pretty much all came back as the flight progressed although not like I would have liked them to have been but mostly good enough for what I needed to enjoy the Mustang. My hat’s off to that Mustang that was only three months older than I was. We had a GREAT time together! It was certainly capable of more than I could ever ask it to do. The memory of Steve and Crazy Horse is still vivid in my memory every day so far. Thanks Stallion 51 for the great flight of a lifetime.
 
Ed Hampshire

____________________________________________________________________

March 1, 2015

"Beyond Words......"

I have been an avgeek my entire life and although I’m a rotorhead for more than 18 years I wanted to do some aerobatics in an airplane for my 40th birthday. As soon as I knew that I would travel to Orlando for work, I realized that I was very close to one of the top items on my bucket list, flying THE Mustang. Instead of doing aerobatics in just an airplane, this was the once in a lifetime opportunity of doing aerobatics in a dual control TF-51 Mustang. 
Flying Crazy Horse, painted in the same colors as they flew during WWII in my country, was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Stallion51 has been very professional from my first e-mail up to the de-briefing of my flight, they did everything that they promise on their website. 
I flew with Steve Larmore, a very professional instructor who set me at ease during his professional but relaxed pre-flight briefing. Although I’m a helicopter pilot and have zero airplane flight hours, he actually let me do most of the flying and talked me through all of the maneuvers and corrected only if it was really necessary. 
I feel very lucky that I was able to check one of the items on my bucket list, the only problem is that it was such a great experience that I have put Stallion51 back on my list. I will definitely go back.

Marc
Brussels, Belgium

______________________________________________________________________

February 24, 2015

"It was a big enough thrill to get a ride in this amazing aircraft, let alone get a huge amount of stick time, thank you, thank you!"

One week later I'm still reliving the thrill of my Stallion 51 Mustang ride, and wearing out my flight video. An amazing experience from the get go, Stallion 51 is the epitome of a professional, polished and positive presentation. My flight arrangement was easily made online, with a couple of followup phone calls to hammer out the finer details, all handled perfectly by Julia M, a wonderful first representative for this group. Arriving at Kissimmee airport, we were met by our pilot, John "Homer" Black, and it just kept getting better. A detailed preflight briefing of our one hour ride, with visual aids, the walk around check of this iconic aircraft, (beautifully maintained by Crew Chief Greg), helmet, parachute and harness strap in, and we're ready to go. John "Homer" is the perfect instructor for this ride, clear, concise and encouraging, we did just about every aerobatic maneuver I could think of: stalls, wing overs, loops, aileron and barrel rolls, cloverleafs, and Immelmans. Even with my limited flying background (sailplanes, C-150/172), I was able to muddle through them with John's expert instruction. It was a big enough thrill to get a ride in this amazing aircraft, let alone get a huge amount of stick time, thank you, thank you! If you are an aircraft enthusiast, and particularly interested in flying one of the most iconic WWII fighters, you should not miss this experience.

I am left in awe of the many young airmen who risked it all to serve the greater good during the second world war, thank you for your many sacrifices.

Cameron from Canada

_____________________________________________________________

February 4, 2015 

Doing this kind of flying myself in a P51 is just awesome!

Since my days as a young kid I have always had a great interest in aircraft and aviation. I have never brought it to the level of getting my own pilot license, but over the years i have some hours flying in small aircraft. Flying with a very good friend who has given me time in control in the co-pilot seat. This includes some hours in the AT6 Texan. My friend is a very skilled pilot displaying at airshows so I have had my fair share of aerobatics with him.

When I was invited to Kissimmee, Florida for a business meeting the first week of February 2015 there were no doubt. I immediately contacted Stallion 51 for a flight in the P51. From the first moment of communication I was treated in a professional and friendly way - you really have the feeling of being welcome. On the day of my flight the team at Stallion 51 took care of me in the best way. John "Homer" Black was my pilot/instructor and he set up a very professional pre-flight briefing and in-flight coaching, pushing me through different manouvers and aerobatics in the air. Doing this kind of flying myself in a P51 is just awesome! We also teamed up with the L39 for some tight formation flying and aerobatics - pulling some G. Big time - John!

For anybody interested in flying and filling their "bucket list" of lifetime experiences - you must try this one!

Best regards to the Stallion 51 team from NORWAY,
Rolf Kjoennerud

 

_______________________________________________________________________________
January 2015     

"I could not have dreamed for a better experience."

I have been an airplane enthusiast my entire life. Although I have never taken the time to get my pilots license, I enjoy being around airplanes of all types. I am an active remote control airplane pilot. I have a particular love for the P-51. On a recent visit to Florida, I made arrangements with Stallion 51 to go for a flight in one of their dual control TF-51 Mustangs. From the very beginning they made me feel very comfortable, with their expert and professional approach to making my flight one of the best experiences of my life. I could not have dreamed for a better experience. I would recommend to anyone who has ever thought about taking to the skies in a P-51, they should contact Stallion 51 and get a flight lined up. A very memorable experience.

Loren Pearson,
Paynesville, MN.

_______________________________________________________________________

January 14,  2015

For people who are nuts about airplanes, Stallion 51 is most certainly at the top of all bucket lists!

Perhaps at my age I'm becoming a little jaded but the flight yesterday definitely put the bloom back on the rose and I've been trying to figure out how best to put that into words.

The first thing that Rob and I discussed upon completion of the flight was the level of "professionalism" demonstrated by everyone we met. We agreed that we don't often see that anymore and it was both refreshing and impressive. When we first looked in from the rear of the hangar and saw all of these beautiful and obviously meticulously maintained "works of art" and the squeaky clean facilities, we knew we were dealing with a group of top notch professional people.........................and not just "among" the top but the very top of the ladder. The airplanes themselves are quite frankly magnificent in every respect.

Your airplanes look much better than I do, they don't have bags under their eyes and "Crazy Horse" is 3 years older than I am! It also seems obvious that your maintenance crew chief, Greg has poured heart and soul into these beautiful machines. I worked as a line crewman in gen'l aviation for nearly 10 years and I know how to distinguish between people who "love" airplanes and those who don't. It's more than obvious that all of you "love" your airplanes.

I couldn't wait to plug the zip drive into my PC and re-live yesterday's experience. As I watched the recording, it became obvious just what a "special" experience, the Stallion 51 folks had created for me. When you get to my age, you begin to realize that there's less in front and more behind and your life becomes more and more about "memories". John, you, Julia and the staff have created something "special" for me that I can't quite adequately describe in words.

For people who are nuts about airplanes, Stallion 51 is most certainly at the top of all bucket lists and even if I can't quite put it to words, I can most certainly "feel" it and yesterday morning will lighten my load and bring smiles to me forever. John, in 1950 when I was 3 years old, my Dad used to take me out to "Wold Chamberlin Field" (now Mpls Int'l) to both watch and listen to Stratocruisers, Constellations, DC-3's, 4's, 6's and 7's come and go. The Minnesota Air Guard had their hangars out there as well and I can recall seeing what seemed like row upon row of P-51's and each had its propeller spinner painted a different color.

Even as a little boy, I could tell that the P-51's "sounded" different from every other airplane I'd ever heard and I've been hooked on the "romance" of this airplane ever since. John, your patience and professionalism with me yesterday truly made a dream come true, I'll never forget any of you and you'll always occupy a unique and very special place in my life.

Take care always!

Mike
Minnesota

_____________________________________________________________

December 31, 2014

Before you leave.......you will be making plans to return!

My husband George surprised me with a ride in the famous WWII P51 Mustangs, Crazy Horse and Crazy Horse II. Their home is at the Kissimmee Gateway Airport in the Stallion 51 Hangar on Merlin Drive. Owners, CEO & assistant, information officer, office personell, mechanics and photographers are all outstanding. Before you leave, your visit or ride, they will have you so excited about the roll these beautiful planes had in our freedom, you will be making plans to return.

Jo Malnar

_______________________________________________________________________

December 24, 2014

Don't Wait!

If you like WWII aircraft, if you like POWER, if you like SPEED, if you like flying, then Crazy Horse can't be beat! The pilots are very experienced and the ultimate professionals...I know because I'm professional pilot also. If you think you'd like to fly a Mustang then DON'T wait!

JD
Ocala, Florida

____________________________________________________________

December 10, 2014

Indulge yourself-whether you have flying experience or just love the fantastic look of the Mustang

Thanks to the Stallion 51 dedicated team, Kissimmee is the only place in the world where you can fly a P-51 Mustang (actually a much rarer TF-51, and they've got two!) from the back seat with exactly the same controls as in the front one, where the instructor (Steve, in my case) will make you feel so comfortable that you will turn rolls and loops with ease, aboard one of the most iconic planes ever, powered by a liquid-cooled V-12 Packard-Merlin 1,700 HP engine driving a huge 4-blade propeller!
Indulge yourself right now, whether you have some flying experience or just love the fantastic look of the Mustang. Who doesn't?

Jean
from FRANCE

_____________________________________________________________

November 11, 2014

Finding the magic out side the Magic Kingdom!

If you are an airplane afficionado you owe it to yourself to go to Kissimmee and fly with Stallion 51. It is well-run, professional organization that is geared toward safety and a fantastic customer experience. Don't expect a passive Disney World type ride-you will be piloting the plane for much of the flight.  I flew with John "Homer" Black and he was an excellent instructor/coach (and a real professional as you'd expect from someone with 20 years experience flying F-15s.) One draw back with flying with HOmer, my family and friends call me "Bart"! 

Bill T
Lexington, Mass

___________________________________________________________

October 30, 2014  

"Then he muttered these four words I will never forget, “YOU HAVE THE CONTROLS”.  That thirteen year old boy was flying a mustang!"

I would like to take a moment and thank the staff of Stallion 51 for helping me celebrate my 50th birthday.  This was definitely a present I will cherish for the rest of my life.  
I became interested in aviation as a young boy, reading anything I could find that dealt with aviation and aircraft.  It was then I discovered an aircraft like no other.  She had the lines, power and maneuverability like nothing else in the sky.  From that moment on, I have had an obsession with the P-51 Mustang.


When I was 13, my dad took my four brothers and I to the old Tampa Airport to witness a fly in of historic WW II aircraft.  Among the aircraft were an F4U Corsair, P-47 Thunderbolt, P-39 Aircobra, and at least a half dozen P-51 Mustangs.   Having read about the legendary Mustang, it was emotional to be standing there as they made a fly-by and then landed and taxied to where we were standing.  The sound of the Merlin Rolls Royce power plant was like nothing I had ever heard before.  Walking up to the aircraft, talking to the pilots and touching such an incredible aircraft was enough to put one into senses overload.   As a young boy, I made a promise to myself to one day fly such a beautiful angel, knowing that in reality, it would likely never happen.

I never lost sight of the dream of becoming a pilot.  I earned my private and instrument ratings in Tampa, Florida, then transferred to a flight school at the Orlando Executive Airport.  It was there while driving to class one morning, a hangar door was open.  I noticed the unmistakable shape of an aircraft I had admired for years.  I pulled over and walked over to the fence and gazed into the hangar.  It was in fact a P-51 Mustang and her name was “Crazy Horse”.  Later after my flight lesson I asked one of the line men if they knew anything about the P-51 in the hangar across the field.  He told me about the Mustang and that it had dual controls.  I immediately came to the realization that if I was ever going to fly a Mustang, it would have to be one like this.  From that day forward, I have followed “Crazy Horse” for over 25 years.

Throughout the years and with many ups and downs, I became that airline pilot I had always dreamed of becoming.  Flying for United has been a wonderful adventure.  It was there, several years ago, while greeting the passengers as they boarded my aircraft on a flight from San Francisco to Orlando that a gentleman came on board wearing a polo shirt with the inscription “Stallion 51”.  I immediately said to him, “That’s Crazy Horse”.  He looked surprise and said “You know Crazy Horse”?  I responded, “I’ve known and followed that angle for more than 25 years “.  He was nice enough to tell me all about her and where she’s located these days and invited me out to fly her.  But as it is, life tends to interrupt most dreams.  I have a wonderful wife and daughter and have responsibilities to them which pushes those dreams and desires to the back of one’s mind.

October 30, 2014, that thirteen year old boy turned fifty, a major milestone in one’s life.  That evening, my wife and daughter handed me my last present .  I opened the box and pulled out a pamphlet, it said “Stallion 51”. For several seconds I couldn’t speak, I was overcome with emotions.  My family had given me a gift I would cherish for the rest of my life.   I was going to fly my old friend that I had admired from afar, I was going to fly “Crazy Horse”.  At just after 1:00pm, on November  11, 2014, my pilot John Black, call sign “Homer” pushed the throttles forward and several seconds later we took off.  I was flying in a Mustang.  Then he muttered these four words I will never forget, “YOU HAVE THE CONTROLS”.  That thirteen year old boy was flying a mustang!

Thank you to Stallion 51 for truly giving me closer to a dream I’ve carried most of my life.  Your staff was more than accommodating to my family and I.  Thank you to my pilot, John “Homer”, for showing me just what these incredible aircraft can do.  And a special thanks to my family for truly giving me the best present I could have hoped for.  Take care.

Sincerely,

Michael Albano

_____________________________________________________________________

October 1, 2014  

An Unusual Adventure!


The experience was great.  I have already shared the video with several of my friends and they loved it.  The pilot was very professional and was patient with all my mistakes. 

I found out about Stallion 51 when trying to find a model on the internet.  Google was smart enough to have your company as something I might be interested in. 

Thanks so much for providing this unusual adventure. 

Randy

_____________________________________________________________________

September 19, 2014

The day will go down in my books as one of my most memorable days ever!


I would like to thank everyone involved in my recent flight in Crazy Horse for the professional, friendly manner in which I was treated. The facility is top notch and the staff’s friendly, relaxed demeanor allowed my brother (who was there to observe) and myself feel very comfortable. My biggest thanks goes to John Posson, my instructor for the day. His professionalism and easy going demeanor allowed me to experience the flight at my level without feeling I was putting him out. It was a pleasure to fly with someone of his skill level. I must say that September 19, 2014 will go down in my books as one of my most memorable days ever, hopefully I can return to fly with Stallion 51 again in the near future to ad another awesome day to my memory bank.

 Thank you all!!  

Mitch Emery 

_______________________________________________________________________

August 27, 2014

The Perfect Combination

After my latest flight I must compliment your Organization on the perfect blend of Professionalism, Knowledge, Sincerity, Expertise, Congeniality and Enthusiasm.
There is no way I could have had a more enjoyable experience.

Thank you very much.
Don Peters
Salem, Va.

______________________________________________________________________

August 6, 2014

Coming back for more.....

I bought this experience for my airline pilto husband for his birthday. It was worth every penny. Teh entire experience was top-notch and he loved it so much he plans on coming back to do it again. I can't reccommned this attraction enough.

_____________________________________________________________

July 2, 2014
Thanks for a wonderful journey in the saddle of  your"Crazy Horse"

A dream come true for me last week-and I can't imagine a better run organizatin to provide the means to do it.  From the facility itself with its spotless hangar and briefing room, to the friiendly staff-everyone of them professionals. And finally, to the beautiful airplanes. A person could not ask for anything better.  Lastly, thank you "Homer" for the wonderful journey in the saddle of "Crazy Horse". Homer is truly a wonderful teacher/pilot and habout the best job in the world. I have a hard time puttin into words when people ask me to describe the flight in Crazy Horse, For me,  it was really something beyond words-That Good.

Thanks again, Stallion 51
Kevin Rupp
Castle Rock, CO _______________________________________________________________________

June 5, 2014
The Smiles on the Stallion 51 Team are like the Florida Sun!


What can I say?  The planes are beautifull and run flawlessly,  the organization is 10+ the smile in the team is like the Florida sun.
The flight was what  I was expecting: power, ease of control, precision, ...and it fulfilled my expectations.

Last world about my Pilot/instructor "Homer"Black.
Even knowing my experience as comercial pilot, He took plenty of time on the ground to explain the flight, the performance, the way we will proceed and to debrief the flight . In the air, he was "relaxed", but always Professional, giving just enough inputs for me to appreciate the plane and the flight to the maximum. I think this Guy is a real ++ for Stallion 51.

I'll do it again ;o))

Best regards
Renaud Leclercq
Belgium
_________________________________________________________________________________

May 30, 2014
Flight of a Lifetime.........Worth the Wait!

After waiting 60 years to obtain my pilots license, I've been taking every opportunity to fly or ride in as many different aircraft (especially warbirds) as I possibly can. I obtained my complex, high performance and tail wheel endorsements, purchased a Cessna 182, flown a T 6, riden in a Stearman and a B25 Mitchell at the LoneStar Flight Museum in Galveston, and now, finally, the flight of a lifetime, the TF 51 Mustang. While John, my mentor and pilot extradonaire, patiently waited for me to catch up to the sensitive nature of the Mustang's controls, I was provided the absolute unique experience of flying most of the aerobatic moves in the greatest fighter aircraft ever conceived. Thanks to John and all the other Stallion 51 staff and crew, for maintaining the best fleet of Mustangs still flying, and allowing green pilots like me the greatest aviation experience out there. I'll be back. Thanks. Dean Woods

______________________________________________________________________

May 1, 2014
One of the greatest experiences of my life!

Thanks to a wonderful wife, I received a Christmas present that tops them all. She gifted me with a one-hour flight in the Mustang "Crazy Horse". I retired from the FAA in 1999 and had the opportunity to fly many different aircraft. Flying the Mustang topped all the others combined! From the moment we entered the door at Stallion 51 Operations, everything went smoothly, thanks to Julia Mulcahy at the front desk. The pilot (instructor) Steve Larmore walked in and made me feel as though we had known each other for many years. Unknown to me, a friend of mine had contacted the Stallion 51 office and asked them to address me as "Frito". Steve went along with the joke and we all had a good laugh. After climbing into the aircraft and hooking up the harness, I realized this dream of a lifetime was actually happening. The flight was at a normal pace, but very little time was wasted. Steve explained everything I needed to know regarding the controls, speeds, etc. We did loops, barrel rolls, stalls, wing overs, but nothing was done without my okay. I had a BLAST! I am pushing 80 years of age and can honestly say that this was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I thank my wife daily for having provided this opportunity for me. Thank you to my wife Vivian, to Julia, Steve, Jack and all the Stallion 51 staff for an incredible day that will never be forgotten!

Ron Bragg (Frito).
Edmond, OK

__________________________________________________________________________

April 9, 2014

There is no other flight operations that have impressed me more than Stallion 51.


Back to normal again, after the most fantastic thing I have ever done in my life, I would like to thank you so very much for your excellent guiding during our Mustang flight on March 12. I would also like to convey a big thanks to you Steve and the Stallion 51 team for how friendly we were received and taken care of during our stay with you. There is no other flight operations that have impressed me more than Stallion 51. This will never be forgottenMy certificate and the Mustang photo is now framed and on the wall.

Best regards from a very satisfied
Pierre

_______________________________________________________________________

March 1, 2014

I have had the good fortune to have many exciting adventures in my life, but flying the Mustang with you was the BEST of them all.

My "sortie" in February of 2014 in the P-51 Mustang "Crazy Horse" was fantastic.  In my 81 years I have had the good fortune to do many exciting things; ie... hike the Great Wall of China, white water rafting in the Grand Canyon, safaried in the Serengetti and Masai Mara, treked in Alaska, skied the slopes of Utah and Colorado and flown a million miles around the world to these adventures. I tell you this not to impress you but to put my expereince at Stallion 51 in persepctive.  None of the fore mentioned gave me the exhiliration or the thrill of actulally controlling a P-51 Mustang.  Since the age of 12 I have always wanted to fly that palne. Thanks to you all and in particular, "Homer" Black, that dream came true.  Homer, you were sharp, precise and easy to understand, People who have watched my video of the flight comment on how effective you were.  It was an awesome event!  Thanks again to you all.

In gratitude;
Bill Stark

_______________________________________________________________________

February 20, 2014

What could have been just an exciting ride turned into an incredible experience!

Stallion 51: Just a few words of thanks to you and Steve Lamore for making my Stallion 2 flight on 2/19/14 the experience of a lifetime! My intent was to fly "once and done," however, Steve made what could have been just an exciting ride into an incredible experience. He is an extraordinary teacher and pilot. I would recommend Steve and Stallion 51 to anyone contemplating a warbird experience. I hope to be back next year.

Again, thank you, Steve!
Fred Fisher
___________________________________________________________________

December 11, 2013

Stallion 51 sets the standard on that warbird training should be,

What an experience! A full Mustang check out, multiple days and multiple sorties. The discipline and professionalism displayed by the staff is equal to the training I recieved as a military aviator.  The ground school is in depth with all the systems covered in detail and the flight training academics are second-to-none with all the regimes of the P-51 flight envelope explored. It is serious business, it is physically and mentally taxing, but the staff makes in fun too.  After completing the course you will have a made friends with one of the quintessential fighters of all time and made life long friends with the wonderful people who run the organization. Stallion 51 sets the standard on that warbird training should be,

Sierra Hotel
Fort Worth, Texas

_____________________________________________________________

November 8, 2013
An experience to be savoured and remembered for ever.

Please pass on my appreciation to John Posson (and to Lee) for the superb experience I had with John flying Crazy Horse 2 on Friday 8 November. Not only was the flight brilliant but John’s friendly and helpful nature made it even more enjoyable. Coupled with the opportunity for aerobatics, this was truly an experience to be savoured and remembered for ever.
 
Having now returned to the UK after perhaps my 300th transatlantic flight, the bland experience on a 747 even further highlights that flying can be fun as the Mustang proves.
 
Thanks again.
 
Dr Ian Mackenzie
United Kingdom

_________________________________________________________________________

October 15, 2013

"Time Flies...So Should You!", pilot the Mustang as it was built to be flown.

Okay, six weeks have passed, and I should have come down from the clouds, the joy, and the excitement of flying Crazy Horse with John Posson, but the thrill has lasted, and lasted, and will not abate.

Take all my family things and events (weddings, births, family vacations I swore we would never do again, but did) and put them in a box on the left. Put all the other experiences of my life in the box on the right (golf championships, a hole-in-one, academic success, climbing Half Dome, etc.). In the box on the right, flying the P-51 with John was the most fun thing I've ever done.

If you have watched the ad, "Time Flies...So Should You!", and wondered, and waited, quit waiting. Don't take the 1/2 hour; take the full hour, fly to the restricted airspace, and pilot the Mustang as it was built to be flown. We did stalls, turns, overhead breaks, aileron rolls, barrel rolls, point rolls, loops, wing overs, and a split-S. I haven't quit smiling, and never will.

I'm not a pilot. I have built and flown model aircraft since childhood. I "fly" a Microsoft simulator that includes a F4F, F6F, and Corsair, and I hold a FAA Powerplant mechanics license. Until we went up in the Mustang, I had zero stick time in a full scale aircraft. Thanks to John's help, Crazy Horse was easy to fly.  It may have "dark corners," as John said, but we did not go there, and it was very well mannered, and performed flawlessly. John said, "You cannot hurt this aircraft and I won't let you get in trouble." He was right, about everything. Crazy Horse is powered by the Merlin; as John said, "It's the real deal." The rear seat is fully outfitted; you are not a passenger. When John said, "you have the airplane," I had the airplane.

John Posson, a special thanks. You were the right combination of patient and encouraging. You pushed me the right amount to take the controls and fly. Thank you, forever. I have a terrible memory for names and faces, but I will always remember you, your professionalism, and as contributing more to my life than you will ever know.

Greg White, you did an outstanding job of maintaining and preparing the aircraft. As a fellow mechanic, I say you are terrific at your job. When I ran my fingers over the leading edge of the prop, an felt no dings, dents, or indications of prop strikes, I knew the aircraft was in the best condition possible.

So, to everyone at Stallion51, thank you again. Five stars are not enough.

Ed Anderson
Midland, Texas
_________________________________________________________________________

October 11, 2013
I have driven my aviation friends mad this weekend with my Mustang flight video and stories!  I've loved it!

Good afternoon Julia, Well we're back home in Manchester UK, greeted by 52f and drizzle, I already miss Florida.....

I just wanted to let you know how much Diane and I enjoyed the Stallion 51
experience, you made us feel very welcome and special.  Julia, thank you very much.

The 'downstairs' team were 1st class, the time s


Join Our Mailing List:





© Stallion 51 Corporation | 3951 Merlin Drive - Kissimmee, FL 34741 | (407) 846-4400 - Fax: (407) 846-0414. | mustang@stallion51.com | Site Map | JetUAT.com